Running 1 to 100

I’ve run three marathons, lots of halfs, 10Ks, and 5Ks but I have never consistently trained for any of them. The marathons were the worst. I always started out with good intentions and with a 16 or 20-week training plan taped to the fridge. But inevitably I would make it through a few weeks before slacking off – first a little, then a lot. I usually found some excuse to not run much after a few months but didn’t have the heart to cancel out of the races. So I ended up running the anyway with horrible results – slow paces, always positive splits (second half of the races much slower than the first), aching body, and most of all ashamed of myself that I didn’t stick to the training plans.Now I’m 51. And I have a new plan. And I’m going to stick with it this time – really I am.
My idea is to run 11 races over the next 18 months. And to run them in order from one mile to a hundred miles. So the distances in order will be: 1 mile, 5K, 10K, 15K, 10 miles, half marathon, full marathon, 50K, 50 miles, 100K, 100 miles. I’ve spent the last two weeks picking out the races. It was challenging to sequence them in the right order with what I think is the right amount of time in between races. All of the races are within driving distance of where I live in Philadelphia except for the 100 miler which is in Arizona. I have no experience with anything over the full marathon distance so those are where I’m kind of flying blind on the prep time and what’s involved. Hopefully I’ll get advice as I get closer to be able to do the ultras.
My first race is tomorrow. It’s the Paw Prints One-mile race in Mt. Holly, NJ. I ran two times last week when my wife and I were visiting her mother in Kagoshima, Japan. Her mom is 78 and still runs 5Ks. I ran a few miles each time with her and our niece who is 11. That’s the only training I’ve done for the one-miler. So from here on out — I’m going to be training, and be prepared, and have fun, and blog about my trip along the way.   Here’s the list of races I picked out.  Now off to get ready for this one-miler.

IMG_0144

 

Leave a Reply

